8 Results for year: 2019

Troon Portland Curlers Compete in Harry Hart Trophy

A Troon Portland team skipped by Jack McCorkell recently competed in the Harry Hart Trophy in Greenacres. Renfrewshire were the holders having won last year at Ayr but three Ayrshire rinks headed off to Greenacres on the 20th November determined to wrest it back to Ayrshire. Half way through the games the odds were ... More

Troon Portland team wins Alloway Rosebowl

Aileen McCorkell led a Troon Portland team to victory in the Ayr Curling Club's annual Alloway Rosebowl ladies competition. Aileen skipped the team, along with Lisa Mason, Alison Young and Fiona Bain. The team beat Jennifer Mutter, Gillian MacDonald, Sandra Carruthers and Linda Williams in a very close final on 14 ... More

Letton Bonspiel

Congratulations to Jack McCorkell, Betty Beardall, Jack Shanks and Kay Bennet who won the Letton Stone at the Letton Bonspiel on Monday, 18 November.   Letton Bonspiel Winners The dreaded Wooden Spoon was won by team Wallace McDowall.   Special thanks to Match Secretary David Kerr for helping the bonspiel run ... More

Andrew Kerr elected to Vice President of Scottish Curling

At the recent RCCC annual general meeting, our own Andrew Kerr was elected to the position of Vice President.   Vice Presidents Andrew Kerr and Corrie Lawrence Andrew has worked tirelessly behind the scenes for a number of years and fully deserves this recognition.  Andrew has previously served as ... More

Stranraer Weekend

This years Stranraer weekend was a roaring success and a great time was had by all. The fun started with Linda's brilliant quiz on the Friday evening and continued with a lovely dinner and some dancing and general sillyness on Saturday evening.  The food was excellent, as was the wine, a conclusion reached after ... More

Points Competition

Congratulations go to Charles Sutherland, winner of the 2019 Sheriff's Medal at Points. A dozen Troon Portland curlers tested their skills at the annual competition, which was held on Sunday, 24 February. Charles came in first place, followed by Ewan Marr and Jack McCorkell, who tied for second place. Curlers were ... More

Troon Portland Wins Gairdner Trophy

Troon Portland took home the Gairdner Trophy on Monday night, 27 January. Four Troon Portland competed against teams from Dundonald and Kilmarnock. All four TPCC teams won their matches, giving Troon 8 points in the overall competition and securing a victory. Andrew Kerr skipped the top scoring rink from Troon ... More

Troon Portland Takes Second in Province Medal

Troon Portland finished in second place in the Province Medal on 8 January. Dundonald Curling Club won the competition with an overall score of plus 17 points. Bert McKay's rink of Jamie Mason, Fiona Bain and Alison Young beat Beresford Ladies by 7 points in the afternoon game. Andrew Kerr’s rink of Kirst Letton, ... More